# **Ⅲ. Relevant Organisations**

## 1. Governmental organisations

- 1. Ministry of Culture and Arts, Sri Lanka 8th Floor, Sethsiripaya, Battaramulla, Sri Lanka Tel: +94 1 2872001, +94 11 2876586; Fax: +94 11 2872024 Email: itasst@cultural.gov.lk; culturalmin@gmail.com
- 2. Ministry of National Heritage, Sri Lanka 8th Floor, Sethsiripaya, Battaramulla, Sri Lanka Tel: +94 11 2876586; Fax: +94 11 2872024

Field of concentration: both these Ministries concentrate on Culture and National Cultural Heritage.

#### **Institutions under these Ministries:**

(a) Department of Cultural Affairs, 8th Floor, Sethsiripaya, Battaramulla, Sri Lanka.

Tel: +94 (11) 2872031, +94 (11) 2866731

Fax: +94 (11) 2866732 Email: dcanews@sltnet.lk Web: www.cultural.gov.lk

(b) Central Cultural Fund, 212/1, Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka. Tel: +94 (11) 2500732

Fax: +94 (11) 2500731 Email: info@ccf.lk; Web: www.ccf.lk

(c) Tower Hall Theatre Foundation No 123, "Sausiripaya",

Wijerama Mawatha. Colombo 07, Sri Lanka Tel: +94 (11) 2686088 Fax: +94 (11) 26778517

Email: towersl@sltnet.lk

#### **Board of Trustees**

- i. the Prime Minister who shall be the Chairman of the Board;
- ii. the Minister in charge of the subject of Local Government;
- iii. the Minister in charge of the subject of Finance;
- iv. the Minister in charge of the subject of Cultural Affairs;
- v. the Secretary to the Prime Minister;
- vi. the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister in charge of the subject of Cultural Affairs;
- vii. the Secretary to the Ministry charged with the subject of Education;
- viii. the Director of Cultural Affairs;\
  - ix. the Mayor of the Colombo Municipal Council;
  - x. the Municipal Commissioner, Colombo Municipal Council; and
  - xi. five persons appointed by the Prime Minister, of whom two shall be persons of recognized competence or eminence in the Arts.

### (d) Arts Council of Sri Lanka

No. 12/1, Polduwa Road, Battaramulla, Sri Lanka.

Tel: +94 11 2861420, +94 11 2 884027

Fax: +94 11 2 861420

Email: artscouncil@yahoo.com

Web: www.artscouncil.lk

(e) Department of Archaeology

Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha, Colombo 07.

Sri Lanka.

Tel: +94 11 2692840, +94 11 2692841

Fax: +94 11 2696250 Email: archacct@sltnet.lk Web: www.archaeology.gov.lk

## **Advisory Committee**

- i. The Minister may, by Order published in the Gazette, Archaeological Advisorv (hereinafter referred to as "the Advisory Committee".).
- ii. It shall be the function of such Advisory Committee to advise the Director-General of Archaeology
  - a. on any or all of the matters the Minister considers necessary for the purpose of carrying out or giving effect to the principles and provisions of this Ordinance; and
  - b. where advice is sought by him on matters connected to the performance of his duties under this Ordinance.
- iii. The Minister may appoint to such Advisory Committee such number of members and on such terms and conditions as he may determine.
- iv. The Advisory Committee shall have the power to fix and regulate its own procedure including the power to determine the number of members necessary to form a quorum for its meetings. Every member of the Advisory Committee shall hold office for two years unless he earlier resigns, dies or is removed from office.
- v. A member of the Advisory Committee may resign from office by letter addressed to the Minister.
- vi. A member vacating his office by resignation or by expiration of his term of office shall be eligible for reappointment.
- vii. Where a member of the Advisory Committee becomes by reason of illness or other infirmity or absence from Sri Lanka, temporarily unable to perform the duties of his office, the Minister may appoint another person to act in his place.
- viii. The Minister may, if he considers it expedient so to do, remove from office, by Order published in the Gazette, any member of the Advisory Committee
- (f) Department of National Museums

No. 854, Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha,

Colombo 07.

Sri Lanka.

Tel: +94 11 2695366 Fax: +94 11 2692092 Email: nmdep@slt.lk

Web: www.museum.gov.lk

(g) Department of National Archives No.7, Phillip Gunawardena Mawatha, Colombo 07,

Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 2694532 Fax: +94 11 2694419 Email: achives@slt.lk Web: www.archives.gov.lk

3. National Library and Documentation Board, No 14, Independence Avenue, Colombo 7,

Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 2698847 Fax: +94 11 2685201

Email: conserv@mail.natlib.lk

Web: www.natlib.lk

4. National Colleges of Education

5. Universities with Departments of Sociology, Social Anthropology, Archaeology, Language and cultural studies, Sinhala, Tamil, Colleges of Aesthetic Such as Sri Palee, Swami Wipulananda and University of the Visual and Performing Arts

Financial support for all these institutes is from the Government